2014 National Champions

The peak national sporting body for the sport of reining in Australia - Reining Australia is a nonprofit association dedicated to developing the sport of reining and the reining horse industry.

Reining Australia is recognised as the official National Association Affiliate of the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) International Affiliate Programme,in the USA.

All Reining Australia sanctioned shows are conducted in accordance with the international NRHA show rules and horse welfare standards.

National Events & Industry Incentives

Reining Australia promotes a series of national championship shows each year to recognise the best reining horses and riders in the country.

Collectively the Gold Buckle Futurity, Australian Reining Breeders’ Cup and Equitana provide a series of aged and open eventsover a horse’s show career offering prize moneyspecifically intended to incentivise owners toprofessionally campaign the best bred reining horses in order to grow the Australian reining horse industry.

Gold Buckle Futurity

The Gold Buckle Futurity programme is designed to generate and guarantee a minimum prize money pool each year for the premier 3 year old Open Futurity class.

With the number of horses entered into the programme growing each year the 2014 prize money pool is expected to approach $40,000.

Australian Reining Breeders’ Cup

Modelled on the highly successful National Reining Breeders Classic in the USA, the ARBC is both an event and industry breeding incentive programme with an underlying mission to promote the breeding of reining horses in Australia through the provision of a lucrative and prestigious event specifically designed for the derby year progeny of the best Australian and international reining stallions

Australian Open Reining Championships

With an event prize pool of $40,000 theAustralian Open Reining Championships attracts the best horse and rider combinations to Equitana in November each year.

World Equestrian Games

The FEI World Equestrian Games Reining competition is a CRI 5* event.

Five resident and three overseas riders met the qualification standard set by the Federation Equestre Internationale (FEI) for the Reining competition at WEG 2014.The 2014 Australian team was Shaun Saunders, John Wicks, Martin Larcombe, Shauna Larcombe and Bill Norwood.

Reining Australia 2014